Interview with Lumi Style

Today I’m happy to announce  that we are having a nice chat with owner and creator Emily Talling from Lumi Style. Lumi designs are handcrafted Accessories & Knitwear handmade with much care in Cornwall, England.

Arm Candy

Arm Candy

Get enchanted by the colourful designs! Visit her Etsy shop here.

ifeelcrafty:  Tell us something characteristic about yourself!

Emily: I have a bit of a thing about being organised! I am a lover of list making, and find that I am unable to get on with my daily tasks unless I have spent time writing a list of what needs to be done. I have a Moleskine notebook/diary which I carry with me everywhere and I would be lost without it. I also have a monthly calendar planner which keeps me on track!

Kids Pixie Hood

ifeelcrafty: You have two small children. How does your work space look like?

Emily: We live in the countryside on a farm and I am lucky enough to have a room in our home to create. It has a desk area, my sewing machine and overlocker and a lots of shelves and boxes full of wool! The children love popping in to unravel the odd ball of wool! 

ifeelcrafty: How much time do you spend with knitting/crocheting each week?

Emily: Wherever I go, I always have a crochet hook and a ball of wool in my handbag. I seize any spare moment to crochet.

Boot Cuffs

Boot Cuffs

ifeelcrafty: You are a member of ‘not on the highstreet.com‘. What are your experiences working with them?

Emily: I have recently become a partner and am really excited to be part of the website, I think it is an excellent platform and has given me the opportunity to expand into a different market. 

ifeelcrafty: What is your goal for LumiStyle in 2013?

Emily: I am working on a new A/W range and have started working with this gorgeous new pure wool yarn, it is just lovely to work with and I am really pleased with the pieces. I am looking forward to releasing the range later in the year.

Crantock Cowl

ifeelcrafty:  Your favorite piece of all time! Already part of the collection or not-yet-made like an idea for something you always wanted to make!

Emily: I was amazed at how successful my boot cuffs were last year, it was fantastic. I think my new favourite for 2013 has to be the Crantock Cowl in Oxblood. It is so cozy and warm. Although right now I have a bit of a thing for the new Arm Candy, they come in such bright and summer colours, really cheerful.

Thank you, Emily, for taking the time for a chat and a ‘cuppa’ today 🙂

